So What Is It You Actually Do?!

…This is a question I get asked quite a lot when I tell people I’m a personal stylist and shopper.

Often people think it’s a service that is reserved for the uber rich or celebrities, but more and more people are starting to realise that working with someone like me can be really useful in actually saving you money where clothes are concerned!

I would never tell a client to go out and spend hundreds of pounds on a new wardrobe, unless they really wanted to. The way I work is by getting to know you. Family, hobbies, work, children, body likes/ dislikes – you get the picture. This information gives me more of an insight into what someone needs from their wardrobe, then we look at what’s actually hanging in it…this is the fun bit.

I get clients to take me through their clothes, these range from favourite everyday pieces, to the jeans you bought and are going to slim into, to cocktail dresses and shoes – basically everything. We work out what to keep, what to bin and what would be good for charity shops or EBay. Trust me if you’ve not worn something that’s been hanging in your wardrobe for the last year you’re never going to wear it, so why not pass it on and let someone else give it a new lease of life?

It can be hard to clear out your wardrobe, I understand more than anyone the emotional attachment an item of clothing can have. My husband constantly threatens to get rid of my Christian Louboutins, which I’ve only worn once because they were my wedding shoes…as if he’s ever going to win that argument! See them in their glorious gorgeousness below.

20140211-184933.jpg
Next up I encourage you to try things on, it’s a great way of giving people new outfit options without actually purchasing anything. It’s also the part that surprises most people as they’ll not have thought about wearing clothes in a certain way. It’s when all the little stylist tricks come out, simple things like pushing the sleeves up on a jacket or jumper can change the look and feel of an outfit in an instant and show off some fab accessories!

20140211-152624.jpg
From here we can also identify key items that are missing. This could be anything from a pair of Converse or skinny jeans to a statement necklace or decent bra! I make this list there and then, but after the wardrobe clear out I’ll go away and come up with suitable options to help fill the gaps. Then it’s up to you when you shop for them. Some people aren’t quite confident enough at that stage so I often accompany people on these shopping trips.

It doesn’t take long for the confidence to start growing though, especially when the compliments start to roll in. It’s even more satisfying to know that you already had those clothes in your wardrobe, with just a little help in putting your outfits together.

Having worked in the fashion industry for nearly 12 years, with all the models and shoots I’ve worked on, nothing is more satisfying then seeing how happy a little wardrobe shake up can make someone. For more info on what I do head to http://www.notjustadress.com

Leave a Reply

