The long and SHORT of it

If I was to ask you what is the style staple and pretty much corner-stone to the majority of your holiday wardrobe, would you agree with me and say a pair of denim shorts?

Having just been away I realised how much I rely on my good old denim cut-offs.  I’d say they featured in my to day-to-day wardrobe on a daily basis, whether that was chucked on over a swimsuit (see below) or teamed with my favourite boho blouse, but on returning home they’re relegated to the back of the cupboard, where I only pull them out if it’s a scorcher in the garden.

I don’t know about you but I’m a cost per wear person (although others might tell you something else), so I’m feeling brave this summer and plan to maximise the life out of my denim shorts.  Here’s how with some inspo from the style set.

(All images via Pinterest)

Looking at those outfits there isn’t anything new or ground breaking, but what you need to pull off a cut off when you’re not beach side is confidence, which means a little extra outfit planning.  A long sleeve, whether that’s a breton stripe top, simple tee and blazer or crisp white shirt looks super chic and balances out the amount of flesh you’re flashing.  If your main concern is people whispering ‘oh my god, look at her butt’ then a carefully tied shirt or jumper will give you a little more coverage up back and a lot more confidence up front.

If you’re looking for a denim short that’s more city break than beach holiday there are some 3/4 styles that are very now and much more likely to feature in your non-holiday wardrobe once your feet are firming back on home turf.

That my lovelies is the long and the short of it, so here are a few of my high street favs.

Leave a Reply

